Inevitable

sunset pictureToday I do not believe in the inevitable. As a teacher, I can not afford to believe that a child’s future course is set in concrete.

I will use a sledgehammer on those labels we give our students. I will drown out those shouting “Failure!” with a soft look, a welcoming smile, an encouraging glance, a handshake or a hug, a laugh or a tear.

I will be tough when I need to and not let them take the easy way out. The world will be tougher than I am.

I will show them that people are smart in different ways and that the secret talent they have is already in them waiting to be unleashed on the world.

I will stock up on caffeine and patience every day and I will not give up.

I will never give up. I do not believe in the inevitable.

3 thoughts on “Inevitable

  1. Yes!! I love this! Isn’t it amazing how students can rise to the occasion when they are not given the option to quit? That coupled with having someone believe they can do it – makes all the difference in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

