Sunflower/Moonflower

Bloom

 

 

I am an accidental gardener. I plant something and it accidentally grows. Or grows accidentally. Whatever. This year I had two plants that went completely nuts in my Texas back yard.

SeymourI grew sunflowers. Mammoth Russian Sunflowers. Now you may be thinking , ” What kind of knucklehead would grow sunflowers in north Texas when they sprout in every pasture by the droves?” Well for the seed for the birds of course. And because I love watching the flowers follow the sun. Hum the Beatle song here. (If you have to ask what Beatle song, you’re too young to read this.)

The sunflowersI planted these from an old package of seeds from at least ten years ago. I had twenty-four seeds. I have two sunflower plants left, but as you can see they make up for their small numbers in size. The deer and rabbits ate the rest. It went like this. I was excited when the seeds  all sprouted and the seedlings seemed to grow two inches a day. Then one morning I went out to look and I had stubs. Somebody likes the taste of sunflower leaves it seems. While I never saw the carnage happen, I did see my rabbit friends avoiding my gaze. DSC01161 Anyway, the two plants I have left are about six foot tall now and one bud looks as if it will open soon. We had to fight the ants for these two. Ants like to burrow into the stalks. They killed my okra plants that way last year. I was ready for them.

The second of my garden champions of a sort is the Moonflower Vine I planted from seed at the same time as the Sunflowers. I planted them on the north side of the cage we have placed on a berm to keep the deer away from our tomatoes. I had about the same amount of seeds and every one of them came up.

The first picture is the Moonflower Vine in early June.

June 6 Moonflowers

The second picture is August.

OMG

 

To say that they are vigorous is an understatement. I’m kind of afraid to get to close for fear they will say “Feed me Seymour, Feed Me! (If you don’t know Little Shop of Horrors you have led too sheltered a life.) We still have no flowers, which I fretted about until my very wise sister told me the plant has one job. Make more Moonflowers. It will bloom when it is darn good and ready. If we get the same amount of blooms as we got vine, it ought to be pretty spectacular. I’ll post.

The gate
The Moonflower Vine is eating the gate.

Note to self: Don’t plant Moonflowers next to the gate next time unless you like uncurling ten thousand little Moonflower tendrils every day.

 

Leave a Reply

